Helen Hayes Awards Media Registration

Darlene Taylor


Media Registration for 28th Helen Hayes Awards

Washington theatres will receive the highest honors for achievement at the 28th Helen Hayes Awards on Monday, April 23, 2012 at the Warner Theatre, 513 13th Street, NW, Washington, DC.

Submit your request for coverage no later than April 20, 2012. To request a form, contact Darlene Taylor, External Communications and Development Manager, theatreWashington, at press@theatrewashington.org, or go to www.theatrewashington.org. If you have questions, please call theatreWashington Communications at 202.337.4572.

5:30 pm Media set-up available in the Warner Theatre

6:30 pm VIP Guest arrival and photo opportunities available in the lobby
outside the Warner Building restaurant at 13th and E Streets, NW

7:30 pm Guest arrival outside the Warner Theatre

8:00 pm Awards ceremony begins, the Warner Theatre

The 28th Helen Hayes Awards, a signature program of theatreWashington, will celebrate 153 nominated artists, productions and ensembles, along with three special awards that pay tribute to those who have made extraordinary contributions to the theatre.

The prestigious Helen Hayes Tribute sponsored by Jaylee Mead will be presented to Oscar and Tony Award winning actor and arts advocate Kevin Spacey for his versatile and prolific work on both stage and screen.

Jane Lang and Paul Sprenger will receive The Washington Post Award for Innovative Leadership in the Theatre Community for spearheading a $24 million capital campaign to develop the Atlas Performing Arts Center and reviving the H Street Northeast neighborhood.

The Faction of Fools Theatre Company will receive the John Aniello Award for Outstanding Emerging Theatre Company, which recognizes emerging theatre companies who have produced a body of work that is groundbreaking and compelling. The Faction of Fools Theatre Company brings the 16th century theatre style of Commedia del Arte to modern audiences.